Jump to content
Valentijn Scholten

Make audit log read only / append only

Recommended Posts

Hi,

 

Recently I noticed that when removing a password list all associated audit log records are also deleted.

 

My opinion is:

- An Audit log should be append only. I understand that at some point it might get truncated.

- The message currently being displayed when deleting a password list is not making clear the audit log is being deleted as well. I understand that "all related records" is very broad, but in my experience users don't expect audit logs to be deleted.

- I will also raise a recycle bin feature request (if not already present). A recycle bin could help if can only be 'cleared' by passwordstate admins.

 

 

Valentijn

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

HI Valentijn,

 

Just a quick message to say that today we've released build 8679 of Passwordstate which does not remove auditing data if someone deletes a password list.  Thanks for the suggestion:)

 

Regards,

Support

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

×