iCanHazPassword

Have I Been Pwned? Integration

As a security professional, I think it would be really awesome if you guys added the option to integrate with the Have I Been Pwned? API when using the password reset portal.  This would allow you to check the password being set against the 300+ Million known passwords from various breaches.  If a match is found, have options to either allow the user to accept the risk or an admin option for force the user to pick a different password.

API Info here:

https://haveibeenpwned.com/API/v2#PwnedPasswords

The DB can also be downloaded offline if you wanted to automate that process and do lookups locally.

Hi jnalldr,

Thanks for your request, and we're actually working on adding 'Bad Passwords' into the Reset Portal at the moment - and customers can add any any number of Bad Passwords they want. We're also introducing Password Policies as well, similar to Password Strength Policies in the core product.

Hopefully these will help with your request, and possibly perform a little better considering it does not need to reach out to the Internet to check.

Regards

Click Studios

Sort of.  It would be nice if a source could be used that was regularly updated.  Instead of the API call, maybe the option to download the PW DB and check against it locally.  If I have to manually add passwords, it won't happen.  Considering the password DB has over 300 million PWs, it's not manageable if done manually.

Hi jnalldr,

Thanks for your suggestion, and we're not sure if we would want to consider 300 million records, as that may have a performance impact on the database - the "Have I Been Pwned" solution has been designed for one specific purpose, but the SQL Database for Passwordstate performs many more functions as well.

Regards

Click Studios

Is there any plan to integrate the Pwned Passwords API as an option in the existing "Bad Passwords" feature?