geeks

Audit Administration Settings Changes

I'm new to Passwordstate, so please forgive me if I'm missing something here, but I've looked everywhere I can think of in the Passwordstate interface, and throughout the Users and Security Administrators manuals, and I can't seem to find any information indicating that changes made in the Administration area (and especially in the System Settings section) are tracked so that they can be viewed and monitored under the Auditing section of Administration.

When we first mentioned to our users that this new system was coming, our HR person became extremely alarmed - she doesn't want System Administrators to have access to just anyone's passwords. I need to be able to show her that we can lock that down and prove through auditing that us System Administrators aren't circumventing security policies.

Can someone tell me if Administration level changes are audited, and if so, how to view them, or how to enable auditing of these changes?

And if not, please consider this a request for enhancement to Passwordstate.

Thank you,

Rochelle Adsitt

IT Director

evergreenDIRECT Credit Union

Hi Rochelle,

You can see a full list of auditing events which are recorded in Passwordstate here - http://www.clickstudios.com.au/about/compliance-reporting.html. These can all be queried on the screen Administration -> Auditing, which I'm sure you're aware.

There isn't much in the way of audit events for the Administration area per se, but all access to Passwords are audited, all permission changes to Password Lists or Passwords are audited, so there is a full audit trail of this - which sounds like the main concern of your HR person?

If there's anything specific in the Administration area you would like us to add, then please let us know.

Regards

Click Studios

The main concern of our HR person is that a System/Security Administrator not be able to access a private list that doesn't belong to them.