gazhak

Upgrading Passwordstate from v6.3 to v7.0 experiences

I want to describe my experience when upgrading Passwordstate from a clean (first time) installation

Versions:

Current Build: Version 6.3 (Build 6350)     New Build: Version 7.0 (Build 7033)

Note: I am running Passwordstate on a server, that is not connected to a domain/AD.

I had a fair bit of trouble with this, probably mostly due to the fact I am new to passwordstate, so I thought I would document for any other readers running into the same problem.

My issue were primarily with getting the backup working.

Here's what I did: 

• I put in my userinfo and backup path to a shared folder on our server ( i.e. C:\<folder name>\ ) and I put in credentials for an administrator account and hit the "test settings" button. Nothing was happening, and I never got any error message.
  • So I tried starting the upgrade process via the notification in the top of the passwordstate webapp, and I got the following error:  Upgrade error detected - Index was outside the bounds of the array. - Method = StopWindowsServiceButton_Click

What I did to solve this was:
  • First change my account name from <account> to .\<account>  (since I'm using a local account and not an AD account)
  • Add permissions for the account "NT services\MSSQLSERVER" account: right click your chosen backup folder, select properties > security tab > hit Edit... button > click Add... > type in NT services\MSSQLSERVER > select MSSQLSERVER from the list > click OK

After completing these two steps, I was able to succesfully test backup settings and get going with the upgrade.

Regards,
Gazhak

Hi Gazhak,